stink bug chicken recipe

Sounds appetizing, doesn’t it.

We call it that because one evening in Idaho, when our friends Barbara (also known as “Grandma Om”) and Om stayed for a typically chaotic family dinner, a stink bug dropped from the chandelier and plopped in the middle of the casserole I’d just set on the table.

Barbara and Om didn’t seem to mind too much.

Two of my favorite people in the whole world.

My future son-in-law requested it for dinner (he said his parents would like it), so Monday I tucked this baby into the oven in the afternoon and pulled it out three hours later.  It was a hit!

Stink Bug Chicken

10 pieces of chicken ( I use boneless breasts and sometimes cut them in half)

2 cans cream of mushroom soup

1 package dry onion soup mix

1/2 cup of wine, red or white

Rinse the chicken and pat dry.  Place in a large pan so that the chicken pieces are in one layer.  Mix the rest of the ingredients together and spread on top of the chicken.  Bake at 300 or 325 for 2-3 hours, until it’s browned and bubbly and tender.  If you use a pretty baking dish, serve it from the table because everyone will want to help themselves to more gravy (if the chicken isn’t quite defrosted all the way, the gravy will be thinner; otherwise it’s pretty thick).

 I know it sounds too simple to be good, but trust me.

You can cut this recipe in half or double or triple it, if you have enough room in your oven.

This entry was posted in food, rhode island and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to stink bug chicken recipe

  1. Ellie Lizotte says:

    OMG!! Here is another funny story about those same stink bugs. Christina’s room was upstairs and would be harassed daily by those stink bugs. She would trap them with random bottle tops and when Bob would come home from work he would go upstairs to dispose of the stinky critters!!!
    I think I saw some the other day on the deck………where did I put those bottle tops….

  2. Linda says:

    You brought back some great memories–Barbara and Om, and my mom’s chicken casserole–without the stink bug. I’ve heard of people swallowing them while drinking a can of pop, ick.

  3. Karen says:

    I must leave a reply! I was making chicken in my crockpot……..recipe was almost identical to yours above (except broth instead of wine). Anyway, after 3 hrs, I lifted the lid and saw a stinkbug floating in there!!!!! I went to the web and typed in – stinkbug cooked in food okay – and I say the reference to “stink bug chicken”. This is just toooo funny so I am replying. I spooned out the stinkbug and haven’t told anybody yet. I’ll wait till dinner to see if they notice. I am so bad.

  4. Pingback: won’t miss these | is there any more pie?

Leave a Reply

